A guide to help entrants to the Gilder Lehrman Age of Revolution Essay Contest.
Last Updated: Oct 31, 2014
Submission Deadline: April 14, 2015
The pages on this guide provide resources for researching the suggested topics form the contest information packet. You are not limited to these topics.
- American History in Video
A database made up entirely of video resources. A combination of documentary films and archival news reels on all eras of American history make up this valuable collection. Search by time period, subject, person, or advanced keyword search. Videos include transcripts to help you understand and find just the right clip for your research project.
- American History Online
An excellent reference source for any subject in American history. Includes encyclopedia articles, images, videos, maps, and primary source documents.
- Issues & Controversies in American History
This resource presents conflicting points of view and differing arguments related to key turning points in American history, with background context, conclusions, and sources for further research.
JSTOR is an archive of scholarly writing across academic disciplines. Highly recommended for deeper information gathering in subjects related to the humanities, though STEM-related fields are also represented. Currency varies by journal. You will see this database in college.
- Modern World History Online
An excellent reference source for any subject in modern world history (15th cent. - present). Includes encyclopedia articles, images, videos, maps, and primary source documents.