This is the "Databases" page of the "Database Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Database Guide  

Our collection of subscription online databases, chosen to support your research needs at Perk.
Last Updated: Oct 25, 2016 URL: http://perkiomen.libguides.com/databases Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What are databases?

Your library subscribes to a number of high-quality, well-reviewed, award-winning subscription databases.  These resources are part of the library collection, except that instead of being organized on shelves, they are available online.  Many of these will help you with research in any topic; others are more subject-specific.  All of them will supply you with pre-formatted MLA citations for each entry.


If you have questions about using any of these great resources, do not hesitate to ask Ms. Hammond or Ms. Sweeney.

 

How to Search a Database in Plain English

 

Access PA POWER Library

The Access PA POWER Library is a statewide resources that provides access to a number of great databases, including some from EbscoHost and H.W. Wilson, and ProQuest.  The Perkiomen School Libraries can provide on-campus access to these resources; for off-campus access, it takes less than a minute to sign up and receive a Power Library ecard (the only information needed is your name, your email address, town, and zip code) OR use your PA public library card!  See your librarian for more information.

 

American History in Video

 

Issues & Controversies in American History

 

U.S. Government Online

 

Your Government: How it Works

 

American History Online

 

Ancient and Medieval History Online

 

Bloom's Literary Reference Online

 

CultureGrams

 

EBSCOhost Research Databases

EBSCOhost Research databases
Limit Your Results
 

Modern World History Online

 

Oxford Art Online

 

Oxford Reference

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

 

Science Online

 

SIRS Discoverer

 

World Religions Online

 

Writers' Reference Center

 

Accessing Databases From Off-Campus

Remember!  You can access our library databases from off-campus.  You will need special passwords to do this.  See or email Ms. Hammond or Ms. Sweeney.

Google Scholar

Be aware when using Google Scholar that you may not have access to the full text of articles you find.  If you find a great-looking citation without full text access, try searching a library database for that article.  If you still can't find it, contact Ms. Hammond with the full citation of the article you need.



 

Research Strategies

Print or download this helpful table and use it to guide you through forming successful search strategies.  If you would like it in Google Drive, email Ms. Hammond to have it shared with you.

 

Global Issues in Context

 

GreenFile

 

eLibrary


 

JSTOR

 

Teen Health and Wellness

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip