This is the "Home" page of the "Native American History and Culture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Native American History and Culture  

Provides access to resources for studying and researching topics and issues related to Native American peoples.
Last Updated: May 14, 2015 URL: http://perkiomen.libguides.com/nativeamerican Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Useful Links

  • Native American Heritage Month
    The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the rich ancestry and traditions of Native Americans.
  • Perk US History Wiki -- Native American Resources  Icon
  • Celebrating Native American Voices; AIAN Heritage Month
    November is Native American Heritage Month and it’s an important time to celebrate the current and historic role the Native American voice has played in the United States. It’s a time to celebrate the modern and traditional cultures, people, and societies of Native American peoples. It’s also an opportunity to highlight the important contributions of Native peoples and the shared histories between tribal nations and other communities.
  • Indian Country Today
    Native & American Indian News, Articles, Culture, Events and More

    Indian Country Today Media Network’s home page is the digital gateway to the world’s most comprehensive and innovative online Native news and entertainment site, serving Native and American Indian tribes nationwide. It features Native American Journalism Association award-winning writers and reporters, and a team of columnists composed of tribal leaders, members of Congress, and the foremost Native thinkers, writers, and artists in Indian Country.

  • National Park Service - featured historic properties for American Indian Heritage Month
    The National Register of Historic Places is pleased to promote awareness of and appreciation for the history and culture of American Indians and Alaska Natives during National American Indian Heritage Month.
  • National Museum of the American Indian
  • American Military and Native American Heritage Month
    Department of Defense site featuring interesting articles and links including American Indian Medal of Honor Recipients, Native American Women Veterans, "Army Brat spreads word about her Indian Culture in Powwow Dances, Speeches," and "Veterans Recall Navajo Code Talkers' War in the Pacific."
  • Federal Websites - Native Americans
    This is a guide to federal agency websites that feature information for or about Native Americans. Most of these websites focus on tribal matters.

    Also has links to art, exhibits, maps and photographs.
 

American History in Video

 

American History Online

 

Issues & Controversies in American History

 

U.S. Government Online

 

Books on Native American History and Culture

In Destiny, our library catalog, search for the subject term "Native Americans."  Descriptions below are from catalog records.

Cover Art
Saga of the Sioux - Dee Alexander Brown; Dwight Jon Zimmerman (Adapted by)
Call Number: MS 978 ZIM
ISBN: 9780805093643
Publication Date: 2011-10-25
The great chiefs and warriors speak for themselves about what happened to the Sioux Nation from 1860 to the Massacre of Wounded Knee in 1890. Includes time line and glossary.

Cover Art
Native American Myths and Beliefs - Tom Lowenstein; Piers Vitebsky
Call Number: 299 LOW
ISBN: 9781448859924
Publication Date: 2011-12-15
An overview of Native American beliefs; contains a glossary, further reading list, and index.

Cover Art
You Are Now on Indian Land - Margaret J. Goldstein
Call Number: 323.1197 GOL
ISBN: 9780761357698
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
In 1969, a group of Native American activists landed on the island of Alcatraz in San Francisco Bay and claimed it for American Indians to call attention to Indian repression in the United States. This book gives the historical background to centuries of oppression, war, and suppression of Indian rights, all of which led to the occupation. The book shows how this act spurred other Indian activists to protest U. S. government policies, such as the American Indian Movement (AIM) stand-off in 1973 at Wounded Knee in the Pine Ridge reservation of South Dakota and the Longest Walk from Sacramento, CA, to Washington in 1978.

Cover Art
Reinventing the Enemy's Language - Joy Harjo
Call Number: 810.9 HAR
ISBN: 0393040291
Publication Date: 1997-05-01
This long-awaited anthology celebrates the experience of Native American women and is at once an important contribution to our literature and an historical document. It is the most comprehensive anthology of its kind to collect poetry, fiction, prayer, and memoir from Native American women. Over eighty writers are represented from nearly fifty nations, including such nationally known writers as Louise Erdrich, Linda Hogan, Leslie Marmon Silko, Lee Maracle, Janet Campbell Hale, and Luci Tapahonso; others — Wilma Mankiller, Winona LaDuke, and Bea Medicine — who are known primarily for their contributions to tribal communities; and some who are published here for the first time in this landmark volume.

Cover Art
Indian Summer : the forgotten story of Louis Sockalexis, the first Native American in Major League Baseball - Brian McDonald
Call Number: 927.96 SCO
ISBN: 1579545874
Publication Date: 2003-03-19
The Indian wars were over, and the Indians had lost. But on the green fields of our national pastime, this Indian stood tall ...

America, as always, was in the throes of change. Segregation was becoming law down South with the passage of Jim Crow. West of the Mississippi, the slaughters at Little Bighorn and Wounded Knee still stung recent memory. At the same time, in 1897, the name Sockalexis resounded in barrooms and backrooms, in the lurid headlines of the popular press, and in the bleachers of the legendary ballparks in Baltimore and Boston, Chicago and Cincinnati, New York and St. Louis.This is the story of Louis Francis Sockalexis, grandson of a Penobscot chief, who endured a firestorm of publicity while blazing a trail for such sports heroes as Jim Thorpe and Jackie Robinson.

Cover Art
Before Columbus - Charles C. Mann
Call Number: 970.01 MAN
ISBN: 9781416949008
Publication Date: 2009-09-08
This compelling and convincing study of Native American Societies is adapted for younger readers from Charles C. Mann's best-selling "1491." Turning conventional wisdom on its head, the book argues that the people of North and South America lived in enormous cities, raised pyramids hundreds of years before the Egyptians did, engineered corn, and farmed the rainforests.

Cover Art
Battle on the Plains: the United States Plains Wars - Robert O'Neill (Contribution by); Charles M. Robinson
Call Number: 978.004 ONE
ISBN: 9781448813346
Publication Date: 2011-01-15
Provides information about the political, strategic, tactical, and cultural aspects of the United States Plains Wars; and includes primary source images, maps, and battle plans.

Cover Art
American Indian Voices - Karen D. Harvey
Call Number: 970.1 AME
ISBN: 1562943820
Publication Date: 1995-03-01
This book has prayers, legends, biographical sketches, stories, and poetry of Native Americans.

Cover Art
Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee - Dee Alexander Brown
Call Number: 970.4 B
ISBN: 0030853222
Publication Date: 1971-01-01
Traces the white man's conquest of the Indians of the American West, emphasizing major Indian Wars.

Cover Art
The Indian Removal Act: Forced Relocation - Mark Stewart; Compass Point Books Staff
Call Number: 970.004 STE
ISBN: 9780756524524
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Examines the causes and consequences of the Indian Removal Act of 1830, a law passed by the United States Government that required the Native American tribes living in the Southwestern United States to leave their homelands so white settlers could move in.

Cover Art
Jim Thorpe, Original All-American - Joseph Bruchac
Call Number: MS 796.092 THO
ISBN: 9780142412336
Publication Date: 2008-10-02

Cover Art
The Relocation of the North American Indian - Don Nardo
Call Number: MS 970.1 DUN
ISBN: 9781601526465
Publication Date: 2014-08-01

 

Native American Fiction

Some of these titles are by Native authors, some are not but feature Native characters.  Descriptions from catalog records.

Cover Art
Ghost Hawk - Susan Cooper
Call Number: MS F COO
ISBN: 9781442481411
Publication Date: 2013-08-27
At the end of a winter-long journey into manhood, Little Hawk returns to find his village decimated by a white man's plague and soon, despite a fresh start, Little Hawk dies violently, but his spirit remains, trapped, watching how his world changes.

Cover Art
The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian - Sherman Alexie; Ellen Forney (Illustrator)
Call Number: F ALE
ISBN: 0316013692
Publication Date: 2009-04-01
Budding cartoonist Junior leaves his troubled school on the Spokane Indian Reservation to attend an all-white farm town school where the only other Native American is the school mascot.

Cover Art
If I Ever Get Out of Here: A Novel with Paintings - Eric L. Gansworth
Call Number: MS F GAN
ISBN: 9780545417303
Publication Date: 2013-07-30
Seventh-grader Lewis "Shoe" Blake from the Tuscarora Reservation has a new friend, George Haddonfield from the local Air Force base, but in 1975 upstate New York there is a lot of tension and hatred between Native Americans and Whites--and Lewis is not sure that he can rely on the friendship.

Cover Art
Blasphemy - Sherman Alexie; Sam Redman (Editor)
Call Number: F ALE
ISBN: 9780802120397
Publication Date: 2012-10-02
A collection of thirty-one new and selected short stories by Native American author Sherman Alexie.

Cover Art
The Round House - Louise Erdrich
Call Number: F ERD
ISBN: 9780062065247
Publication Date: 2012-10-02
After Geraldine Coutts is attacked on the Ojibwe reservation in North Dakota, her husband Bazil, a tribal judge, tries to find justice for his wife, and their teenage son Joe tries to help his mother heal.

Cover Art
Blood on the River: James Town 1607 - Elisa Carbone
Call Number: MS F CAR
ISBN: 0142409324
Publication Date: 2007-09-20
Traveling to the New World in 1606 as the page to Captain John Smith, twelve-year-old orphan Samuel Collier settles in the new colony of James Town, where he must quickly learn to distinguish between friend and foe.

Cover Art
Code Talker - Joseph Bruchac
Call Number: F BRU
ISBN: 9780142405963
Publication Date: 2006-07-06
After being taught in a boarding school run by whites that Navajo is a useless language, Ned Begay and other Navajo men are recruited by the Marines to become Code Talkers, sending messages during World War II in their native tongue.

Free Online Documentaries and Movies

  • We Shall Remain
    The story of Native peoples’ valiant resistance to expulsion from their lands and the extinction of their culture. Five episodes, as well as behind the scenes video and information.
  • Custer's Last Stand
    Like everything else about General George Custer, his martyrdom was shrouded in controversy and contradictions. The final act of his larger-than-life career played out on a grand stage with a spellbound public engrossed in the drama. In the end, his death would launch one of the greatest myths in American history
  • Way of the Warrior
    Exploring the warrior ethic among Native Americans, this documentary also reveals how Native communities have traditionally viewed their warriors and why, during the 20th century, Native men and women have signed up for military service at a rate three times higher than non-Indians.
  • Chiefs
    It is a truism that basketball tends to thrive in the direst of circumstances. More than escapism, it provides youth with a sense of belonging and camaraderie, a means of achieving some sort of victory, an opportunity to explore life off the rez. In CHIEFS, we see a group of young men trying to convert the pride and success they experience on the basketball court and move ahead with the rest of their lives. By chronicling the experiences of these young players over the course of two years, CHIEFS shows what it's like to grow up Native American in the 21st century.
  • Indian Country Diaries
    Author LeAnne Howe (Choctaw) goes to the Eastern Band of Cherokee Reservation to discover how the mix of tourism, community and cultural preservation are the keys to the Tribe's health in the 21st Century.
  • Looking Toward Home
    LOOKING TOWARD HOME is a one-hour documentary which explains how government relocation programs in the 1950's enticed significant numbers of Native Americans to leave the reservation for life in major cities such as Los Angeles, Chicago, New York, and the San Francisco Bay Area. The life and times of urban Indians is shown primarily through the eyes of these individuals and subsequent generations as they maintain their tribal identity far away from the culturally nurturing climate of the reservation.
 

Grolier Online Passport

 

Modern World History Online

 

JSTOR

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip