Skip to Main Content

STEM: Mental Illness

Resources for studying, teaching, and doing research in the sciences, technology, engineering, and math.

Mental Illness

Key terms for searching:

"mental* ill*"	"psychotic disorders"
"mental health"	psychiatr*
"mental disorders" OR "mental health disorders"	ethics

Books in Our Library

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5 by American Psychiatric Association Staff; Kernberg
Call Number: 616.89 DIA

ISBN: 9780890425558

Publication Date: 2013-05-22
(Don't) Call Me Crazy: 33 Voices Start the Conversation About Mental Health by Kelly Jensen
Call Number: (eBook)

ISBN: 9781616208745

Publication Date: 2018-10-02
The Protest Psychosis: How Schizophrenia Becomae a Black Disease by Jonathan M. Metzl
Call Number: (eBook)

ISBN: 9780807085929

Publication Date: 2010-01-01
The Encyclopedia of Schizophrenia and Other Psychotic Disorders by Richard Noll; Susan Naylor (Foreword by)
Call Number: 616.89 NOL

ISBN: 9780816064052

Publication Date: 2006-10-01
The Man Who Couldn't Stop: OCD and the True Story of a Life Lost in Thought by David Adam
Call Number: 616.85 ADA

ISBN: 9780374223953

Publication Date: 2015-01-20
Med Head: My Knock-down, Drag-out, Drugged-up Battle with My Brain by James Patterson; Hal Friedman
Call Number: 616.8 PAT

ISBN: 0316076171

Publication Date: 2010-04-01

Library Databases

American History Online
An excellent reference source for any subject in American history. Includes encyclopedia articles, images, videos, maps, and primary source documents.

Mental Illness - Research Topic from eLibrary
Mental illness (2019). Ann Arbor: ProQuest.
Books on Mental Illness from Gale Virtual Reference Library
Mental Health | Global Issues in Context
"Mental Disorders" results from Gale OneFile

JSTOR
JSTOR is an archive of scholarly writing across academic disciplines. Highly recommended for deeper information gathering in subjects related to the humanities, though STEM-related fields are also represented. Currency varies by journal. You will see this database in college.
STEM Database
Full-text access to 500 journals and magazines suitable for AP and college-prep science research. Covers earth sciences, life sciences, physical sciences, medical sciences, and applied sciences.

Resources from the Web

Ethics | Psychiatry.org
American Psychiatric Association
Ethics and Mental Health | AMA Journal of Ethics
Morality and Mental Illness
Edmond J. Safra Center for Ethics, Harvard University