Resource Guides: History: HIS-030 American Government and Global Issues

Using NoodleTools with Library Databases

NoodleTools and research databases are a great match. Since library databases provide citations for the sources they contain, you can easily import or copy citations right into your list of sources in NoodleTools.

Use Global Issues in Context to search for current issues facing your country.
When you find an article that might be useful, export the citation to your project in NoodleTools.
Find an important passage in the article - something that explains the issue, or why it is so critical right now.
Create a notecard in NoodleTools for the important passage you found from your article. Paste the passage, explain it to yourself (paraphrase), and enter any questions or thoughts you have about it (my ideas). Make sure the notecard is linked to the source (cite before you write)!
Repeat steps 1-4 using CultureGrams, Issues & Controversies, or another database from this page. You might need to copy and paste the citations you find rather than export them.

Using NoodleTools to Cite a Book

You can easily import citations for books into NoodleTools. To do so, NoodleTools uses data from WorldCat, which is an online database cataloging books from many, many libraries. See the short video below for instructions.

Online Resources in Our Library Database Collection

CultureGrams (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides concise, clear, reliable information on cultures and countries all over the world. Includes reports on U.S. states and Canadian provinces as well.
eLibrary (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Offers a huge collection of full-text magazines, journals, and newspapers as well as images, maps, videos, and more. Also provides subject guides that gather a variety of types of sources and perspectives on the topics. A great resource to both explore and dive more deeply into research topics. Recommended for any stage of the research process.
American History Online This link opens in a new window
An excellent reference source for any subject in American history. Includes encyclopedia articles, images, videos, maps, and primary source documents.

Books in the Nallo Center

Islam by Katie Marsico
Call Number: MS 297 MAR
ISBN: 9781634721561
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
Climate Migrants: On the Move in a Warming World by Rebecca E. Hirsch
Call Number: MS 304.80905 HIR
ISBN: 9781467793414
Publication Date: 2016-08-01
Immigrant Families by H. W. Poole
Call Number: MS 306.85086 POO
ISBN: 9781422236178
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Refugees by Harry Miller
Call Number: MS 325 MIL
ISBN: 9781422236604
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Israel and the Arab World by Gil Zohar
Call Number: MS 327.5694017 ZOH
ISBN: 9781680200003
Publication Date: 2015-11-01
World Economy by Matt Anniss
Call Number: MS 330.9 ANN
ISBN: 9781433986475
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Easy-to-understand terms explain what led to the economic crisis and what's being done to pull the United States and other countries out. While there are no easy answers, readers will be able to develop informed opinions about the issues.
North and South Korea by Cath Senker
Call Number: MS 951.9 SEN
ISBN: 9781448860296
Publication Date: 2012-08-01
Before 1945, there was a single nation called Korea; after the end of World War II, Korea was divided into two nations, North Korea and South Korea. South Korea is a democracy, while North Korea is a dictatorship. This title explores the long history of Korea, its split, and how North Korea and South Korea continue to remain divided.