Resource Guides: History: HIS-300 Spring 2021 Essay

Spring Essay - Change

You will write a 2-3 page essay focused on the topic of change in the US between 1865 and 1910. For the essay, choose a theme and then produce either

a) an account of changes and their cause and effect impact or

b) one single change as being the most important.

Themes are: social change, political change, economic change, technological change.

Essay is due Friday (4/9/2021) to the drop box on the portal. Double spaced, Cambria, Calibri, or Times font. Either APA or MLA format. Citations needed for quotes, data sets, or paraphrases.

Online Resources to Help You

Khan Academy | US History
Dr. Martin suggests starting here.

American History Online This link opens in a new window
An excellent reference source for any subject in American history. Includes encyclopedia articles, images, videos, maps, and primary source documents.
African-American History This link opens in a new window
Contains content going deeper into African American History. Access reference articles, primary sources, images, and more.
eLibrary (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Offers a huge collection of full-text magazines, journals, and newspapers as well as images, maps, videos, and more. Also provides subject guides that gather a variety of types of sources and perspectives on the topics. A great resource to both explore and dive more deeply into research topics. Recommended for any stage of the research process.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers and U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
This library offers online access to historical newspapers that you can click through cover to cover, or search by topic, date, or article type (article, photo, comic, birth/death/marriage notice, display ad, film review, etc.). They present firsthand accounts and opinions that bring history to life. Also provides access to current full-text content from selected U.S. newspapers.

For citing sources and generating a works cited/references page:

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
Your best friend through the research process. Stay organized with your research question, thesis, citations, note cards, and outline all in one place and stored in the cloud. Tag your evidence to make connections and support your point. Lots of tips and tutorials available.